Recent events and update shows that in this digital era, these “dark times” are often lurking in form of cyber attacks, malware threats or in a very nonthreatening — yet hurtful — way: being blocked by someone without getting know.
Blocking someone on an iPhone is as easy as it is to contact them.
While it is a convenient feature for the user who is blocking someone, the same feature may leave the person who
has been blocked a bit flummoxed after being unable to contact them.
Readers must note that there is no absolute way to be sure if you have been blocked by a particular iPhone
user (apart from the contact telling you this, of course) but there are signs that can sort of
confirm that indeed you have been blocked. If you are in a situation where you feel that
you have been blocked by someone but are not sure try these steps:
Call the contact….
This is the first and obvious thing you need to do to check if you have been blocked by an
iPhone user. We blocked both an iPhone user and an Android user and in both cases heard
the message saying “The number you are trying to reach is busy. Please call again later.”
While this may be a one-off case, but if this is the only message you hear every time you
call them, then there is a good chance that you have been blocked.
….Send them a message
The next obvious step to send an SMS to the contact you think has blocked you. Once you
send a message look for the delivery status. Again, we tried it for both the iPhone user and
an Android user and the results here varied. While in case of iPhone we didn’t get the
‘delivered’ status in the iMessage chat window, but in case of Android, the message chat
showed that the message was delivered.
Therefore, this way of checking whether or not you have been blocked becomes particularly difficult in case you are an Android user.
As we mentioned, these aren’t foolproof methods of finding out if you’ve been blocked but
can give you a fair indicator if someone has blocked your number on iPhone.