WhatsApp’s ability to delete any message is one of the most important features on the app. It is thanks to this feature, you may be able to avoid the embarrassment of sending a message that you were not supposed to an individual or in a group conversation.
However, just like every rose has its thorn, the option to delete the message on WhatsApp also comes with its share of loopholes that you must know when you are using this. Thankfully, WhatsApp lists these on its FAQ page as a special note. Here are five things WhatsApp wants you to know about the ‘delete for everyone’ feature:
1. In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, you and the recipients must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
As per WhatsApp, in order for this feature to work, both the sender and recipient need to be on the latest version of the app, irrespective if they are an Android user or an iOS user.
2. Recipients using WhatsApp for iOS may still have media you sent saved to their Photos, even after the message is deleted from the WhatsApp chat.
3. Recipients might see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion wasn’t successful.
Even in case you immediately delete the message you have sent, there is a possibility that the person you have sent it to saw it before you could delete it. This may happen in case the recipient is already on the chat or looks at the content of the message through a smartphone or desktop notification.
4. You won’t be notified if deleting for everyone wasn’t successful.
Even if you delete a message, there are chances you were not able to successfully do it and unfortunately WhatsApp will not give any kind of intimation to know for sure. For instance, in the above two cases, even if you are able to delete the message for everyone from your side, you will not know for sure if the person was able to see it or not.
5. You only have about an hour after you’ve sent a message to request to Delete for Everyone.
Until sometime ago, you could remove a message from WhatsApp chat only within 7 minutes of sending it. But that also increased. Soon after that, the company offers a more time limit of 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds for this to happen.